Peak District National Park

The Peak District is our oldest National Park

The Peak District was the first National Park to be designated in England and Wales in 1951 and remains one of the most popular, receiving up to 14 million annual visitors thanks to its proximity to many nearby towns and cities. Over a third of the Park is protected for wildlife and its three peaks, the Dark Peak, White Peak and South West Peak provide important habitat for many upland species such as White Mountain hares and the Golden Plover. With nearly 90% of the Park being farmland, it is a true living landscape shaped over decades by livestock and agricultural practice.

Did you know? There are 26,000 miles of dry stone walls in the Peak District, enough to wrap around the whole Earth.

Designated: 1951

Habitats: Farmland, peatland, hay meadows, moorland, woodland

Common wildlife: Red grouse, owls including the barn owl, tawny owl, and the little owl

Star spots: Red deer, white mountain hares, golden Plover

Notable towns and cultural sights: Greens mill, Chatsworth, Bakewell

Notable nature sights: Stanage Edge, Hope Valley

Popular activities for visitors: Hiking, water sports, rock climbing

Highest peak: Kinder Scout at 636 meters above sea level

Annual visitor numbers: 14 million in 2019, 13 million in 2018

Threats: Climate change, wild fires, increasing pressures from farming