Our National Parks

We protect some of the most important landscapes in England and Wales

Millions of people visit National Parks every year, which offer space to breathe, to reflect, to explore. Our Parks are also ‘living landscapes’, home to diverse communities.

There are currently 13 National Parks in England and Wales:

  • The Broads
  • Dartmoor
  • Exmoor
  • Lake District
  • New Forest
  • Northumberland
  • North York Moors
  • Peak District
  • South Downs
  • Yorkshire Dales
  • Bannau Brycheiniog (Brecon Beacons)
  • Pembrokeshire Coast
  • Eryri (Snowdonia)

National Parks currently cover about 10% of total land area of England and Wales: 9% of England and 20% of Wales.

They are part of a wider protected landscapes family that includes Areas of Natural Beauty (AONBs). Plans are afoot to designate more National Parks and AONBs in England and Wales – including the Clwydian Range and Dee Valley.

Read more about each individual National Park in England and Wales here.