Dedicated trustees supporting our work

Janette Ward (Chair)

Inspired by the natural world since childhood, Janette has spent much of her career with Natural England and its predecessors, and is an environmental scientist by training. Working in different and diverse parts of England, she applied her expertise of landscapes and the natural environment, from strategy and policy to operational delivery, during which time she has worked closely with the National Parks, including her eight years as director for South West Region. Janette has held senior leadership positions for the last 15 years, and until recently was director of strategy and innovation for Natural England. She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and south west regional chair for CPRE.

Kate Ashbrook (Vice Chair)

Kate is a former chairman of the Campaign for National Parks (2003-09), general secretary of the Open Spaces Society, president and former chairman of the Ramblers, trustee and former president of the Dartmoor Preservation Association, member of the Institute of Public Rights of Way and Access Managers, patron of the Walkers Are Welcome Towns Network, and former member of the Countryside Agency Board.

Nick Holliday

Nick is an environmental scientist by training and has worked in the countryside sector for over 30 years, with the bulk of his time spent with the former Countryside Commission, and the Countryside Agency where he was regional director for the South West, and lastly as a director with the Commission for Rural Communities. He is currently a secretary of state appointee, and deputy chair (Planning) at Exmoor National Park, and is also vice chair on the Cotswolds Conservation Board (AONB).  He is a keen trail runner, road cyclist and walker.

Susie Rabin

Susie is a senior public affairs professional with over 20 years experience. She is skilled in developing and implementing public affairs strategies, campaigns, policy devevelopment, speech writing and stakeholder management and lobbying and has worked for a wide-range of organisations, including the Women's Institute, Age Concern and World Society for the Protection of Animals. A native Londoner, she is passionate about acccess to green spaces, the countryside and National Parks.

Anne Robinson

Anne has campaigned for the wildness and beauty of National Parks for many years at national, regional and local level, and was co-opted onto our Council in 2001. She is a vice president and former Chairman of Friends of the Peak District, and a member of Nature Peak District.

Ian Rowat

Ian has worked in the field of countryside management for 39 years. He was executive director of the Malvern Hills Conservators before retiring in 2010. Over the course of his career he has held posts as countryside officer on the Isle of Wight, and as Offa’s Dyke officer and Glamorgan Heritage Coast warden. He is currently a Welsh government appointee on the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority.

Mike Russell

Mike has over 40 years experience in business and financial management. In 2014 he retired after nine years as the financial director of the Zoological Society of London. In addition, he has over 12 years experience as a non executive director in the NHS and currently has treasurer/financial advisory roles with two medical and membership based charities as well as two London based museums.

Richard Stones

Richard is an accomplished senior manager, board director and entrepreneur with over 30 years global business expertise within the travel and tourism sector. He has significant experience of income generation on an international stage and he now incorporates his passion for conservation as a director of a consultancy that develops resilient strategies for organisations from the public, private and NGO sectors; advancing and communicating sustainable practice and driving innovative, robust income generation, funding and investment.

Judith Cooke

Judith lives in the Lake District National Park. She was an elected parish representative on the Lake District National Park Authority between 2007 and 2015 and is currently a trustee of Friends of the Lake District and of the Wordsworth Trust.